A Paragraph – week 5…

Module 1 Writing Activity

Pick one of the four topics listed in the Week 5 writing assignment and choose the topic that most appeals to you for your final, peer reviewed paragraph. Once you’ve made your choice, start with the first step of the writing process, inventing, and try a few of the methods to develop your ideas.  If you find that the topic does not seem to be working, try developing another topic. Once you’ve developed some good ideas for your paragraph, move to the second step, organizing, and construct an outline that you can use for drafting your paragraph.

*****

Choose one of the following four topics to write your final paragraph about:

Topic #1
Discuss at least four (4) short term and/or long term effects that finishing Crafting an Effective Writer: Tools of the Trade will have upon you personally, academically, and/or professionally.

*****

  1. Four short and/or long term effects that finishing Crafting an Effective Writer:  Tools of the Trade will have upon me personally, academically, and/or professionally are, among other things, a sense of accomplishment, an improved sense of self-esteem, a confidence which will allow me to trust my ability to write, and faith in my ability to take others on any journey I care to write about.
  2. It has proved quite difficult to select just four positive, ongoing effects.
  3. I have always enjoyed the writings of others; and also always felt that I should be able to achieve the outcomes I see other writers achieve.
  4. It doesn’t matter if the written work is a complex letter, a report, or a book.
  5. The overall impression is of a skill I can share.
  6. Yet my efforts more often failed to result in the sort of finished products others achieved.
  7. I have a reasonably extensive vocabulary.
  8. I have reasonable communication skills generally.
  9. Why then, have my efforts failed to satisfy me?
  10. Perhaps it is because I have tended to use too few words to fill out my sentences, or because I have failed to understand what a sentence needs to contain to captivate a reader and cause said reader to want to continue reading.
  11. Perhaps I have failed to consider what information my audience would like to receive, or how my audience would prefer to have any information presented.
  12. Or might I have presented my chosen information to audiences who simply did not wish to read it?
  13. I feel the skill to write effectively is a learned skill.
  14. Put an apprentice carpenter and a master carpenter in the same room with the same tools and invite both to attempt the same task, and the likelihood is you will see two very different end results.
  15. There will always be those with an intuitive natural ability to produce wonderful pieces using their chosen medium be it writing or working with wood; but learning any skill from a teacher of the craft has, logically, to be a beneficial thing to do.
Leave a Reply

